## **Votes and Proceedings – Plenary**

Meeting Venue:

This meeting can be viewed

Y Siambr - Y Senedd

on <u>Senedd TV</u> at:

Meeting date:

http://senedd.tv/en/3591

Wednesday, 11 May 2016

Meeting time: 13.30

(1)v1

## 1 Election of the Presiding Officer under Standing Order 6

The item started at 13.30.

The Presiding Officer (Dame Rosemary Butler) invited nominations in accordance with Standing Order 6.6.

Dai Lloyd nominated Elin Jones.

Jane Hutt seconded the nomination.

Adam Price nominated Dafydd Elis-Thomas.

Neil Hamilton seconded the nomination.

The Presiding Officer invited the candidates to address the Assembly.

As there were two nominations, a secret ballot took place in accordance with Standing Order 6.8.



The results of the secret ballot were as follows:

Elin Jones	Dafydd Elis- Thomas	Abstentions	Total
34	25	1	60

The Presiding Officer declared Elin Jones elected as Presiding Officer.

Elin Jones took the Chair and addressed the Assembly.

## 2 Election of the Deputy Presiding Officer under Standing Order 6

The item started at 14.17.

The Presiding Officer (Elin Jones) invited nominations in accordance with Standing Order 6.6.

David Rees nominated John Griffiths.

Janet Finch-Saunders seconded the nomination.

Joyce Watson nominated Ann Jones.

Angela Burns seconded the nomination.

The Presiding Officer invited the candidates to address the Assembly.

As there were two nominations, a secret ballot took place in accordance with Standing Order 6.8.

The results of the secret ballot were as follows:

John Griffiths	Ann Jones	Abstentions	Total
29	30	0	59

The Presiding Officer declared Ann Jones elected as Deputy Presiding Officer and invited her to address the Assembly.

## 3 Nomination of First Minister under Standing Order 8

The item started at 15.01.

The Assembly resolved to take nominations for the appointment of First Minister, in accordance with Standing Order 12.11.

The Presiding Officer invited nominations for the appointment of First Minister in accordance with Standing Order 8.2.

Jane Hutt nominated Carwyn Jones.

Rhun ap Iorwerth nominated Leanne Wood.

As there were two nominations, a vote was conducted by roll call. The Presiding Officer invited each Member present to vote for a candidate. Members were called in alphabetical order. In accordance with Standing Order 8.2, neither the Presiding Officer nor the Deputy Presiding Officer were permitted to vote.

The results of the roll call were as follows:

Carwyn Jones	Leanne Wood	Abstentions	Total
29	29	0	58

[see vote summary for full result]

As there was an equality of votes between the two candidates, the Presiding Officer suspended the meeting at 15.09.

The meeting reconvened at 15.47. The Presiding Officer announced that as it was apparent that a further roll call would not lead to a conclusive result, she was adjourning the meeting and bringing proceedings to a close.

In accordance with Standing Order 12.8 the Presiding Officer will ensure that Members are informed of the date and time of the next meeting.

The meeting concluded at 15.48

The Assembly will sit again in Plenary at 13.30, Wednesday, 18 May 2016